DAMIAN VALLES | Extrusions

BLWBCK049 | Release date : Mar 17th, 2013
Tape {66 c.} C40
(tape orders include digital album)

“Extrusions” is made of eight numbered tracks based on frightening piano samples & field recording experiments combined with various percussive elements & solo-guitar. After years of work, the Canadian multi-instrumentalist knows how to play with your feelings and succeeds, once again, in creating a dense eclectic journey. In our opinion, you must listen to this album in a fully dark room, using only sound as a point of reference. Let your mind get lost in this sea of cryptic vibrations before being swallowed entirely by room-filling drones. Starting in a very dark place where everything seems to be covered of charcoal, “Extrusions” gets warmer by the second part, acoustic strums & crackling fire-like noises fill track “Five”while more drone-oriented tracks are to follow. If the music becomes more meditative, the ambiance is still troubled by tense chords and rich dis-harmonies. If you still haven’t turned on the lights, the glimmering piano of the final piece, “Eight”,  comes as a release, extruding your heart of all the fears and tears you can retain, before you awake amidst the final explosion. You don’t need to get-up, you can play it on auto-reverse if you’re not too afraid of the dark.

1. One (6:15)
2. Two (4:48)
3. Three (5:52)
4. Four (2:46)
5. Five (5:44)
6. Six (3:56)
7. Seven (4:24)
8. Eight (5:53)

Music played & recorded by Damian Valles
Mastered by Adrien Broué
Artwork by Romain Barbot